Better Off Being Worse Off?

Empty Nest

TBK

Day four of looking at parenting past:

Don’t get me wrong – I love the lifestyle to which I have become accustomed, and am grateful that our hard work has brought us this good fortune.  Fine dining, luxurious linens, far-flung travel.  But this isn’t just the way my husband and I live our lives; we have two children who come along for the ride, and have been doing so since their formative years.

Through no fault of their own, they can discern the not so subtle differences between dry aged sirloin and the steaks served at a chain restaurant, 500 thread count Egyptian cotton and “scratchy” sheets, or a concierge vs. a make your own waffle station in the lobby.  Yet I worry that we have done them a great disservice and really wish they had grown up in a less affluent environment. Their grandparents question how they will ever survive on their own once they are off our payroll.

I certainly hope we have not ruined them.

If given a do-over, I fantasize about a smaller home, “staycations,” and a whirlybird lawn sprinkler in the backyard.  Nothing wrong with taking a first trip to Europe in one’s late twenties, as I did.  Though my darlings don’t demand these privileges, I regret that they are even part of their vocabulary.  And yes, they have flown coach on long haul flights.  But I wonder, would they be better off being worse off?

Tomorrow’s post is…May I Take Your Order?

Please join the conversation and leave us your email address above. We will only send you empty nest posts from our Grown and Flown writers, nothing else.

About Grown and Flown

Parenting from the Empty Nest
This entry was posted in College, Empty Nest, family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Better Off Being Worse Off?

  1. momshieb says:

    Isn’t it a big part of parenting to second guess ourselves at every step? I’m sure that you have raised your kids to be thoughtful and appreciative, which is separate from financially comfortable. Unless you have taught them to demand and to feel entitled, I hope you can just be proud of yourself!

    I constantly feel badly that I wasn’t able to give my kids more…

    • G&F says:

      Seems like we often think about what more we could have done, or given them, in material and non-material ways.

  2. Shar says:

    We have provided our children with opportunities well beyond what we had. Most of our friends comment that they wish they had their kids lives!
    So…it is a worry that they will be able to maintain their life style.

  3. Pingback: Oh, to be Our Children… « Empty Nest Parenting: Grown and Flown

  4. Really empathise with this post. We have one child, now nineteen, who has manners, charm and many social skills. My only concern is that he hasn’t quite grasped the value of money and for that I can only blame my husband! Seriously, it’s partly my fault too! It is a difficult concept for a teenager to understand that his parents only have the finer things in life now, because we worked long and hard during our twenties, thirties and forties, to get them.

Thoughts?

