May I Take Your Order?

Empty Nest

TBK

Our fifth post in the Rear View Mirror series:

I’m not quite sure when it started, or even how, but at some point our family ended up on different meal schedules.  Perhaps it was because of different activity schedules. Perhaps it was because my husband traveled for work and came home at a different time each night.  Whatever the case, it seemed almost as though we each had a meal plan card and I was the lady who served in the dining hall.

Each of us seemed to punch our dining card at different times, eating different foods in solitude. Though this certainly was not the ideal situation, I was just happy that everyone got a meal at some point (even if each person chose a different part of the meal.)

It’s not as though we never ate together but more and more it seemed like eating together became an optional event as our schedules pulled us apart. Now that my son is away at college in a different part of the country, our meals together can only be at Thanksgiving, Christmas, spring and summer breaks.   If I could do it all over again, I think I would have found a way to make more of our meals together a requirement. What I would give now to have more family time together. There is nothing like seeing my family around the kitchen table even if it means nobody can get a word in edgewise or even if I have to just watch everyone in a meditative state.

Tomorrow’s Post is…I Have a Confession to Make

Please join the conversation and leave us your email address above. We will only send you empty nest posts from our Grown and Flown writers, nothing else.

About Grown and Flown

Parenting from the Empty Nest
This entry was posted in College, Empty Nest, family, Teenagers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to May I Take Your Order?

  1. Time together is precious. As much as my husband traveled internationally – and it was very frequently – when he was home, the family sat down to dinner together. Sure, it’s challenging with everyone on different schedules and divergent appetites, but the most challenging memory is the lost opportunity.

  2. momshieb says:

    I know just what you mean. I miss, more than anything, seeing my children around my table. I can’t tell you what I’d give for one more big, long, drawn out waffles and bacon breakfast with all five of us in our jammies……

    • G&F says:

      Having meals together lives at the heart of our family life and it is really quiet when we start setting the table for only one or two!

    • G&F says:

      Weekend breakfast, once everyone is up, can be so leisurely!

Thoughts?

